Note:  Do not rely on this information. It is very old.

AEolian Islands

AEolian Islands, a group of volcanic origin to the N. of the Straits of Messina, now called the Lipari Islands; mentioned in Hom. Od. x. 1. The chief of these are Hiera, Strongyle, Didyme, Phoenicusa, Euonymus, and Ericusa; their modern names being Vulcano, Stromboli, Salina, Felicudi, Panaria, and Alicudi. Their ancient appellation is derived from AEolus, the god of winds, who was supposed to govern them.

Click for more about Messina